Caloundra + WTA Brisbane 😍

So, after heartbreaking leaving Cairns ( and friends ) we were fully prepared to be on the road again. Driving on 25th of Decemeber – Australian Christmas day , it was peacefull, long , never ending route to Caloundra (Sunshine Coast). Jozef drove from Cairns to Rockhampton all night long and I started driving in Rocky to Caloundra. Felt pretty confident after trip to Cairns two weeks before. Caloundra has some nice palms 🏝

After arriving to Sunshine Coast we booked one night in a closeby motel. Day after we moved to our favourite place – couchsurfing!!!! πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰ I found Victor on website and he showed us his appartment and area. We walked on the beach and watched the sunset. Great meeting local people who help you with accommodation.

Tournament ended in a good way – I won the whole tournament. Third time in a row πŸ†πŸ₯‡Luckily  Matt  knows I love the trophy so he gave me one.


 I signed into Brisbane WTA tournament online in Cairns . My ambition was to be on the list with the top players. I didnt expect to get in even in my best dreams ( OK maybe  I did but it was just a dream)πŸ˜‚πŸ€Έβ€β™€οΈ. When I was leaving Caloundra I was number 2 alternate. That day was sign in into qualifying in Brisbane which was short 1,5 hour drive. Had quick hit with our slovak star Rebecca  Sramkova. Supervisor told me I have big chance of getting in but I didnt take her seriously because I wanted to aviod dissapointment. After two hours I checked the draw and I was IN!!!!! 

My opponent was Maria Jose Metinez Sanchez    ( former world number 19 in singles and number 4 in doubles, currently 33 in doubles ). I couldnt wait to be on the court and play. I must say it wasnt the best. Second game of the match I experienced a sharp pain in my lower back 😩😰. My feeling was not good but I didnt want to retire in my first WTA match in the second game! It was very close battle , I forgot the pain for about a set and half (because of physio help in the first set). My pain was back in the third set. I know it wasnt the smartest idea to continue but you must forgive me because I really wanted to finish my first WTA match. Lost 3:6 7:5 5:7 in the end πŸ™πŸ˜ Honestly – I cried for about 2-3 hours in a hotel room ( I got two nights in a official hotel in the centre of Brisbane !!!) if you play WTA tournament they pay hotel for you and you get meal vouchers as well. What a life! So different compare to ITF level where you have to pay every single thing by yourself πŸ‘©β€πŸ³


I even got nice package from physios there!

After this dissapointment I needed rest! For about a week I was just relaxing and watching Brisbane International Main draw. When you get there you get the chance to meet new people from the top in tennis world. Made friend of Kei Nishikori – Dante!!! And was sitting with Kei at the lunch πŸ™‚ Its such a adrenalin feeling and excitment to meet these players. Kei is very polite, smiley and friendly! He gave us tickets for his matches as well to sit right behind his chair!!!! πŸ˜ŽπŸ˜ŽπŸ˜ŽπŸ˜‚ 

During the week at the courts I made new friends as usual. One of them was photographer Geoff Rankin. His photos were really good ! Many tennis photos are in weird positions and with weird faces (my experience haha) but Geoff made some good shots! Thank you!πŸ‘Œ


Next attempt to play again was Brisbane Money Race where I was testing my lower back. Two matches OK, third match against my good friend Abigail NOT good! 😦 lower back again. O-oh-ou 😰This was not good at all. I knew I needed even longer time off the court. Highlight of the week of Brisbane was final match between Kei and Dimitrov !!! 😻 such a high level of tennis and LIVE! Completly different perspective when you see striking of the ball and quick movement and atlethicism of these guys… unbelievable. Despite of loss of Kei I was so happy I could be there and see it. 

My creation for Slovak people in players lounge πŸ˜‚ welcome to Brisbane

At the finals πŸ‘ŠπŸ‘


Whole two weeks were great  and I absolutely loved the experience… watching the best players hit and see their routines…

​​
​​​

​
After this week in Brisbane ( where we stayed at our friend Billy again!!!!- thanks Bill) we moved again. This time – Sydney again 😜 but just for quick stop and visit of our new friend Iain! Gosh I feel like I have million good friends!!!!! 😍😍😍 cant really say who is more and who is less because these people help, they are very welcoming , friendly , making sure you have everything you need. I love all of them… 


Affter quick stop in Sydney where we actually slept for about two days because we travelled thru the night again – we moved south… again on the road. I feel like Im never ending aussie traveller. But I dont complain … I love it πŸ˜ŽπŸ˜€πŸ˜‚πŸ˜ dont know if there is anyhing better (betta) than exploring this magnifique country …

Next stop – Melbourne 😎😈

Your ZZZ (thanks Geoff)

2 thoughts on “Caloundra + WTA Brisbane 😍

  1. Fantastic, so excited about your experiences especially in the WTA tournament in Brisbane, what an exciting week it must have been for you. Hopefully we will see you in some more WTA events in the not too distant future πŸ€—

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! Glad you enjoyed it! It has been unreal experience in Brisbane and I want it again so will do all my best to get there :)πŸ˜„ thank you for commentπŸ‘

      Like

Leave a Reply

