Canberra – Melbourne – Shenzen trip

Hello everyone!!! Its been a long time since I wrote last post. There has been a lot happening so I thought I might divide it a little bit. I will start right after Bendigo – with Canberra. Trip there was easy and I was happy to be there for the first time in my life. I had some expectations because I booked accommodation on website called couchsurfing.com. Friend of mine reccommended this and I thought – why not. Lets give it a try. First night we spent with Matt. Felt sorry for him because he was waiting for us for about 2 hours with his dinner on the table. I had to wait for qualifying draw because I was at the edge of qualies and main draw. Luckily, I got into main draw in last possible moment!!!!!!! Ash Barty withdrew so I could have two days just for practice and be direct in the main draw. Played Sara Tomic first round and got win so was happy about it even after I hitted myself in my knee with racket… Little bit self-destruction πŸ˜‚πŸ˜«πŸ˜¬.  Next round lost to Patterson. Not the best result. Not the best performance but was very windy and couldnt do better unfortunately. This is how I felt in my match πŸ‘‡πŸ‘‡πŸ‘‡

Pretty easy to see I was not happy!!!🀣 

Forgot to mention our first night with couchsurfer Matt who was so nice to wait for us with dinner and took us for a trip exploring Canberra!!!πŸ˜›πŸ‘Œ we have been at the top of the mountain overlooking Canberra. It was so windy and cold I took a pic and jumped into the car πŸ™„πŸ˜« He showed us all important places in Canberra! Very entertaining.

Question : have you ever tried couchsurfing? Have you ever heard about  it?

There was some rain and of course some sun too so then there was a rainbow 🌈


Next day we moved to another couchsurfer Eric! First night we tried Vietnamese cuisine and loved it πŸ‘Œβ€οΈ his appartment was close to the sky and luckily there was a big storm with lighting… plus Eric has got excellent speakers at home πŸ‘ so we turned the sofa the other way overlooking the city and storm and enjoyed great sound and amazing views…

​​

Our team Tere-Zlocho-Bains was still holding together πŸ™‚


In Canberra we decided we want to try 100 000$ tournament in China !!! Big decision . I was number 6 in qualifying so we wanted to give it a try. Luckily there is embassy in Canberra so we applied for visa and were ready to go. Flight was from Melbourne so we drove back to Melbourne. I drove maybe 3-4 hours , yay πŸ˜ŒπŸ˜ŠπŸ€“ 

Nice news in Melbourne. Got sponsorship with Yonex Aus!!!πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸ‘» I was so excited because anyone who ever asked me what racket I prefer I always said BLUE πŸ”΅πŸ”·πŸ”Ή. Finally I got my dream BLUE RACKET 😍😍😍 thank you Yonex ( for new string and bag as well). I was 100% ready for China.


I got rackets in nice park in the middle of Mebourne and fell in love with it. Such a peacefull place.

Our flight to China was thru Manila , Phillipines with Phillipine Airlines. I was pleasantly surprised with free 15 minutes wifi so I could text my mum and announce her Im onboard safe and happy πŸ˜‡πŸ˜€. She almost got heart attack because she was following the plane on flightradar and suddenly I texted her so she was in shock πŸ‘»πŸ˜Š here are some pictures from travels : (looking at Manila)

Our arrival was in Hong Kong. Its not far from Shenzen in China. We came to Hong Kong close to midnight and caught ‘shared taxi’ to border with China. I thought we can continue with our crowded taxi but taxi driver said we have to get out and go thru border and take another taxi there. Then I realized Hong Kong drives on left side of the road (like in Australia) and China is same like in Europe πŸ˜‚πŸ™„πŸ˜Œ. I felt pretty relaxed after flight but didnt expected one guy at the counter for international travellers and about 30-40 people waiting in line at 1 am 😫😫😫 I was getting frustrated. Really? One guy? Chinese people had maybe 3-4 guys. Then Japanese group arrived so they opened anothe counter just for them. Great. My legs were hurting from standing and moving slow pace. Slower than turtle 🐒🐒🐒. Survived. Came out of building and first guy grabbed us and screamed: TAXI TAXI TAXI πŸš•. I was so disgusted from waiting at the border I said OK and showed him paper with hotel in Shenzen. He showed me OK. Gave us one driver and again I showed him our hotel. I was ready and showed him the name in chinese of course ( I thought Im clever). His GPS found some place. After 5 minutes driving he started speaking in chinese and slowly getting angrier and angrier. I tried english but no help. Then I switched to Slovak language because this route was going nowhere. Our conversation was hilarious. I was still showing him my paper with chinese name hotel and he was saying something back but I had no idea what. We stopped like three times at night (around 3am) asking people. ( he asked in chinese – no help, I asked in english – no help ) πŸ˜‚he was pointing at one building for us showing its there but i was sure thats not a building on picture πŸ™‚ I ran out and asked one lady outside. She pointed at building next to he. I couldnt read any signs but I tried to go in and saw name of the hotel inside and it said 12th floor. Went up , asked the lady at the reception if this is th hotel and she didnt speak english πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚great πŸ™‚ so I showed her my paper with booking and she started to print out something. I wanted to go down to tell Jozef its the right place and we can let the taxi driver go but I had to wait for receptionist to print out slowly my name on the paper 😫😫😫. I said yes thats my name. Finally I got into lift and got Jozef out of the taxi. It was already 4 am. Frustrated, devastated and tired I fell asleep with my clothes on πŸ˜‚πŸ™„. Woke up around 10 am. Jozef jumped out to look for some food. He found food but we had no money and card was not working. ATM was in chinese language. No money, no food 😬. Emailed guy at the tournament asking for pick up from that hotel to courts. I sent him picture of that hotel with exact addres. Approved and said 30 minutes. We ended up waiting maybe 2 hours outside , hungry as hell 🀣 Now Im laughing about it. 


Luckily there was ATM at the courts with english language. Got my first meal in China. My stomach was playing all orchestra music πŸ—£πŸŽΌπŸŽ»πŸŽ·πŸ₯πŸŽΊπŸŽΈπŸ₯πŸ₯πŸ₯πŸ₯

Tournament was well organized. We got towels, waters, balls… everything. I was excited to try my new racket and new string. Loved it πŸ‘Œ players party was nice touch from them and got small amount of money for attending ( had no idea they are giving any πŸ’Έ) so we had some cash πŸ™‚ that meant more food …​

​​
​

​​
Before tournament I was number six but I ended up number one in qualies. I was a little dissapointed but Jozef ensured me its great practice and some points too if I win. (If)

I loved the colour of the court too.BLUE😍

Won my two rounds of qualifying against Chinese players. In main draw there was some luck. 4 qualifiers against each other. What a chance! Got another Chinese player. It was epic match πŸ˜‚πŸ˜¬πŸ˜³ I won 7:6 6:7 7:6 all tiebreakers were 7:5… I was down 5:3 in last tiebreak. Nerve-wracking 😫🀣. 19 points into WTA ranking. Wow! Was cramping in second set quite a bit and got time violation because I couldnt stand up. Physio gave me salt into the drink (yuck 🀒🀐). I guess it helped. Lot of excitment from the match but also woryying because we had to change our flight. Not only time and date but also destination. Our car was at the Melbourne airport but I had upcoming AMT tournaments in Sydney. Had to change it directly to Sydney.

Next day I had to play against Tig from Romania. Not easy after 3,5 hours match day before. I was hardly able to walk but didnt want to retire. Girl had power and shots. I had no legs πŸ˜•πŸ˜ΆπŸ˜‚ anyway enjoyed it. Lost 60 60 πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£

I tried some chinese massage … very weird technique but it felt good …
​​
Whole week  was about risotto or chicken. Didnt want to experiment much. Learnt how to say salt in chinese – yen ( because they dont use much salt and was hard to show them – i tried and they brough me tomato sauce)πŸ˜‚πŸ˜Ά all Chinese come to you with smartphones and translator and talk to you like that πŸ™‚ well not talk but show you 😳🀣. 

Their shopping centre next to courts was huge outdoor and indoor.

Courts were located in beautiful family outdoor centre full of kids with parents and games… lot of screaming too πŸ€πŸ™„

Experienced sellers in hotel shopπŸ™„πŸ€£
​​
​​

One day we decided to go for a trip to Shenzen CBD. I googled the best market for shopping. It was huge huge huge. 5 floors full of shops . We saw maybe 30% of 3rd floor and spent 2 hours there aand luckily just 20$. But met this little fella πŸ™‚


Our trip was at the end and we had to leave. Good and bad moments. Nice memories. There was also one bad memory. People spitting at the airport!!!!!! Onto the ground!!!🀒gross 😫 I heard its normal for them, like tradition… but for me very very very disgusting. But airport roof looked nice in Shenzen …

Have you ever seen these things at the airports?:-) clever idea 

Thats all from this post… will do next one on Sydney-Brisbane-Cairns!!! Comment if you like 😜😊😘

Your ZZZ

2 thoughts on “Canberra – Melbourne – Shenzen trip

  1. Some more stories of your adventure would be appreciated πŸ™‚
    Where does the tour take you to now? I see you’ve left Australia, looking forward to see where you’ll play next ? Best of luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

