Bendigo + Adelaide + Port Pirie

Soooo…. I’m back again. After Melbourne time we moved to Bendigo for a few days of training. 400 serves everyday. I survived it. My shoulder too ๐Ÿ™‚ One night our ‘landlord’ Kieran invited me to family night he managed in South Bendigo. Guys wanted to try to return my serves. Of course they struggled a bit but they were adults playing tennis regularly so they hit a few back. It was fun night full of screaming running kids and adults playing tennis and trying their best. Great food was a big bonus and the icing on the cake was this beautiful sunset.

ย ย 

Our trip to Adelaide was quiet and nice. No problems at all. I love australian roads because there are hardly any cars when you travel between ‘bigger’ cities. Our lunch break was in this nice little place.

We stayed in airbnb in Playford – 5 minutes from tennis club where I played AMT. It was suppose to be platinum series but they lowered it (after withdrawal deadline ) to silver!!! All girls were dissapointed. Not very nice from them. Luckily it was my last AMT this trip so I couldn’t be bothered ( I was just a bit angry haha ). I won 4 matches in 4 days and claimed the victory. Best part of the tournament – we met Slovak girl with her mum Veronika and friend Eva!!! Finally Slovak people (who live here in Australia for a long time). Great chat with them (about Slovak food) + hitting with Michelle ย = we had a lovely day. Thank you for the PRESENT Eva!!! Suprisingly we didn’t meet many Slovakians while on the road. At least we met Michelle , her mum and Eva because we could feel Slovakian atmosphere and talk in Slovak languague which was unusual.
ย ย 
While in Adelaide we wanted to meet our longtime friend Jason and his family. He lives on the other side of Adelaide. One evening we drove there for nice dinner and enjoyed typical traditional dinner in Australia. Chicken with veggies and GRAVY ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜‡๐Ÿ˜‡๐Ÿ˜‡ I love gravy haha ย ( and homemade food ).

Our airbnb was very nice experience again! Lady and her son were relaxed people and their dog was amazing. Loved playing with him all the time. Very energetic. I would take him home if I could haha ๐Ÿถ๐Ÿถ๐Ÿถ.


After Adelaide there was an ITF 25 000$ in Port Pirie. Pirie is special place for me because we found welcoming warmhearted family and we love to come there every year. 3 years in a row we have stayed there. May family. Kids are the best!!! So entertaining and smart ๐Ÿ™‚ ย We tried to help them with maths a little. I could still remember some things from the school so I was pleased haha. Amazing week at this nice family. Loved it โค๏ธ

We made fun and talked about me changing my surname to May – game,set, match- May ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ‘Œ


Port Pirie is known for breathtaking sunsets so I was breath-taken almost everyday ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚. Here are just few photos of it. No filter needed!
ย ย ย ย 

About my tennis. Everytime I play in Pirie , I play well (except last year after sickness). Qualifying draw was full so I had to win 3 tough rounds to get into main draw and get 1 point!!! ๐Ÿ˜ฉ๐Ÿ˜–๐Ÿ˜ซ I played my first match against McLaughlin. Start was very slow. 0-3 down wasn’t very promising start. It was 39 Celsius and we had to play two rounds that day. Luckily I got thru my first round 6:4 6:2. After 1,5 hour break I was again on court against Alexandra Walters. 6:1 6:0. Relieved in that heat. Final round of qualifying was against seeded player Kinard. 3:6 and 4:5 and then 5:6 = I was very very veryyy close to loosing !!!!๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿ˜ฎ but ended up winning 3:6 7:6 (3) 6:3 . Again 39 Celsius but luckily only one match!!!! Got day off so I spent it on courts of course ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ ย Loved my picnic area everyday with pillow haha

After day off I had to play against seeded player in the main draw. Sherazad Reix from France. Last year loss pushed me more so I wanted to win badly. My motivation was really high. Victory 6:2 7:5 was very sweet. Next day Japanese Okamura was another revenge because I lost to her last year in South Korea. 6:4 6:3 this time. I called this tournament ‘revenge tournament’ ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚โ˜บ๏ธ. Next day I lost to 2nd seeded player Sawayanagi. I have never played her before so I couldn’t use my revenge tactic -strategy haha. Maybe that’s why I lost 6:4 6:1 ๐Ÿ˜ฉ๐Ÿ˜‚. My form was good ,it was nice match. Just lost more balls against her. Her backhand is strong and she uses spinny forehand to change the rhythm. Very smart. I was really proud of myself – how I played the whole week and held nerves as well. It was very positive sign ๐Ÿ‘Œ Im enjoying tennis like never before โค๏ธ leaving with 10 ITF points ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘

One funny this happened in Pirie. My friend Darren Polkinghorne was playing a match and they wrote his name like this ย : ๐Ÿ‘‡๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚


From players party : 3 orange men ย Chris( Kim Birrel’s coach), Jozef , Gavin


On our way back to Melbourne we stopped in Tailem Bend and enjoyed grilled fish on our Statesman haha – the only table we could find ย and then drove the whole night.


I have never seen ‘double decker train’ before ๐Ÿ‘ป๐Ÿ˜‚

And 5 minutes later ‘small tornado’ – Willy willy

Ready for packing to USA! ย I have only 23 kg allowance ๐Ÿ˜ซ๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

Our Australian trip is over. Great 5 months , new friends , new memories ….I will be back.

I want to share happy news with you – my mum and my cousin Dada are coming to Florida in May !!!!!๐Ÿ‘Œโœˆ๏ธ me and Dada when we were kids ….tbt again ๐Ÿ˜‚


If you wish I continue with the blog in the US as well please write me a comment๐Ÿ™

I have another blog post ready for you – from hitting tennis with my friend Tim . Will post it soon. Stay tuned ๐Ÿ˜ˆ๐Ÿ‘ป๐Ÿ˜ธ๐Ÿ‘ธ๐Ÿ’

Will miss platter time too much ๐Ÿ˜ฉ and Moscato โค๏ธ

With love , ZZZ ๐Ÿ’ค๐Ÿ’ค๐Ÿ’ค๐Ÿ’ค๐Ÿ’ค๐Ÿ’ค๐Ÿ’ค๐Ÿ’ค๐Ÿ’ค๐Ÿ’ค๐Ÿ’ค

6 thoughts on “Bendigo + Adelaide + Port Pirie

  1. Wow, nice post Zuzana. You did awesome in Port Pirie as well, great week that should hopefully have given you enough points + $$ to forgot about those AMTs where you got cheated.

    Please continue with the blog in the US and Mexico! ๐Ÿ™‚ I really enjoy reading it and you write it well ๐Ÿ™‚

    Good luck in Mexico!

    Like

      1. Cool, Florida sounds nice ๐Ÿ™‚ Are you planning on playing the 4 Florida tournaments, Weston-Orlando-Naples-Osprey? ๐Ÿ˜‰

        Like

Leave a Reply

